Snapchat will no longer reveal your location with your pals if you enable Ghost Mode on your account. Here’s more on how Snapchat location sharing works to help you understand. If you have location sharing turned on for your friends in the Snapchat app, it will update and place your Bitmoji on the Snap Map to show where you are. Unless you open Snapchat, it will not update your location.
How To Use Ghost Mood?
People won’t be able to see you on Snap Maps, the globe map within the Snapchat app, if you’re in Ghost Mode. Additionally, your location will no longer be updated. People can still request to see your location, but you must first accept the request before your location is sent.
If you don’t want your location to appear on Snap Maps but still want some friends to know where you are, selecting the Select Friends option when setting your location sharing might be a better alternative. You can activate Ghost Mode if you don’t want anyone to see you at all.
To Activate Ghost Mode, Follow These Steps:
- Select your profile photo.
- In the top right corner, tap the settings symbol, which resembles a gear.
- Go to Who Can… at the bottom of the page. then select “See My Location” from the drop-down menu.
- The Ghost Mode option is located at the top of the page. When you turn it on, you’ll be given the option of setting a timer for Ghost Mode. You can set it to stay on for 3 hours, 24 hours, or until you manually turn it off.
- Tap the same toggle to turn off Ghost Mode.
- You can also access the same location sharing settings by going to the Snap Map section of the app and tapping on the gear button in the top-right corner screen.
You can also select to exclude some people from seeing your location on this screen, or choose pals who can see it while the rest of your friends can’t.
You may also choose whether or not you wish to allow your friends to request your location under Location Requests. Nobody will be able to send you a location share request if this is disabled.
If you don’t want your location to be visible to everyone, Ghost Mode can be incredibly handy. Because you can set a timer for Ghost Mode, you can turn it on and off whenever you choose. If you’re more concerned about Snapchat gaining access to your location, you can change the settings on your phone.
Keep in mind that if you aren’t sharing your location, you may not be able to use the app’s location-specific filters. You can always turn position sharing back on for a short period of time to see if any of these filters are available.
Keeping your location hidden might protect you from others who might try to pry or find out your location for malicious purposes. This is extremely vital because you may not always know who you’re adding as a Snapchat buddy.